BOOK REVIEW: Before I Left by Daisy White

BEFORE I LEFT by Daisy White

Available from:  www.amazon.co.uk   www.amazon.com

http://daisywhiteauthor.co.uk  www.joffebooks.com  #blogtour #beforeileft #amreviewing #thankspublishers #netgalley

Brighton Palace Pier at dawnBook Description

A LONG HOT SUMMER, A CITY BY THE SEA, AND A SERIAL KILLER ON THE LOOSE.

Nineteen-year-old runaway Ruby Baker and pregnant best friend Mary escape domestic violence in London to find a new home in Brighton. They join a glitzy set of party girls, who are hell-bent on enjoying themselves in the new freedom of the 1960s.

But their new life soon comes under threat. Someone is watching Ruby. A tall stranger who Ruby keeps spotting in the shadows.  This man may have followed them from London. And Ruby fears her dark secret will be exposed.

Then a murder at a local beauty spot brings danger for the party-loving set, and the first murder is followed by a second. Rumours of occult sacrifices spread across town.

In a breathtaking conclusion, Ruby faces a race against time to save someone very close to her, and her new life may be destroyed and her secrets exposed.

Discover a gripping new writer today. Great for fans of Lisa Jewell, Angela Marsons, or LJ Ross.


My Review

This book is very well written and descriptive which makes the reader envisage the scenery and surroundings very realistically. There are many characters which develop gradually over the course of the book.

It is the 1960s and Ruby and Mary are running away from a violent life in London. They travel to Brighton to stay with Pearl in the hope of a peaceful life. Things are starting to look up when a girl is murdered. When Ruby notices a stranger watching her she worries that maybe she hasn’t escaped the violence and secrets of her life in London.

The book progresses at a steady pace as we join the girls on their journey to rebuild their lives and watch them build new friendships and turn amateur detective to find the murderer. There are many twists and turns along the way with a little Black Magic thrown in which makes for an intriguing read towards a fast paced and gripping ending that comes as a real shock.

A very good read and I thank Joffe Books for the advance copy.


Daisy-Profile-PolaroidAuthor Bio:

Hi I’m Daisy White – mum, entrepreneur, and writer. I started off self-publishing, then signed YA series to two fabulous US publishers.

I’ve always wanted to write crime but none of my initial manuscripts were any where near good enough to show the world!

In 2016 I rewrote an earlier idea and entered it into the UK International Novel Writing Competition. It was long-listed and that gave me the confidence I needed to submit to publishers.

Joffe Books signed the Ruby Baker crime series in Feb 2017, and book one, ‘Before I Left’ is out July 20th.

As well as writing, I give talks, workshops, signings, and run my own business http://www.myperfectpopupshop.com. Writing is an obsession, a compulsion and a love, but like most writers I also diversify to pay the bills!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Papertea & Bookflowers

Recommendations, Reviews, Discussions and Bookphotography

Saturday Nite Reader

my saturday night = comfy pj's + a glass of wine + a good book

Lost in Book Land

A future librarian, muggle (who wishes they got their letter), cat mom, and lover of books

The Reading Table

Readers gonna read

Books and Bookends

Book reviews and previews from an avid reader!

My Mind Speaks Aloud

Lifestyle, Self-Development, Book Reviews + More

thatsabitracey.com

The open and honest blog about race, equality, diversity and inclusion.

We Have No Apologies

Your books, your words, your voices

The Crochet Crowd

Free Crochet Patterns & Videos

Bookish Jottings

The Romance, Saga and Women's Fiction Blog

recipeandaread.wordpress.com/

Come for the read. Stay for the food.

Brooklyn.the.bookworm

Book Reviews :)

Bookish Kimberly

anything bookish and coffee-ish

HayleyReviews10

There’s no such thing as too many books.

twirling pages

all things literary & lifestyle

jillwrites

Author of Dual Visions & Vashla's World, also co-author of Fan-tas-tic-al Tales and Mystery, Mayhem & Magic as one of The Ten Penners, and contributor to Spooktacular Stories and Tell 'em They're Dreaming as one of the Share Your Story Angels. I write book reviews, articles and other interesting prose.

Rebecca Bradley

Murder Down To A Tea

gemsbooknook

Bringing Book Reviews to the Readers of the World...

Awordseeker

Poetry, Musings and More.

Mrsreadsbooks

For The Love of Books

The Reading Zone

I am a reader, a teacher, a writer, a thinker, a reviewer, and a dreamer of dreams.

Drew Martin Writes

I write. I create. It's that simple, yet so much more complex. Poetry, fiction, non-fiction, reviews.

Bee Books Beauty

Sharing my passions - books, wellness, beauty & nature

Reading Books With Coffee

Where My Love Of Coffee And My Love Of YA Intersect

Book Lover Kate

Kate; lover of books

The Book Lover's Boudoir

Inside the world of a bibliophile...

Oh Book It!

Book reviews and other bits and bobs

Kitty Marie's Reading Corner

book blogger & reviewer

Loisreadsbooks

Book reviews and more

Writerly Bookish Stuff

Avid tea drinker. Author. Book Reviewer.

Lili's Blissful Pages

reading, writing and other blissful stuff...

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Book Jotter

Reviews, news, features and all things books for passionate readers

This Writer's Life

Live Your Dream

Ashes Books & Bobs

Plenty of Books & a Few Bobs!

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

%d bloggers like this: