BLOG TOUR – Murder at the University WHAT THE READERS ARE SAYING

Today I am posting a catch up of the reviews that  have already been posted  for this  #newrelease by @faithmartin. This is book 2 in the Hillary Greene series that is being republished by @joffebooks.


Linda Strong Book Reviews

‘The book is well written and with the blend of both professional and personal, the characters become quite credible. It’s a police procedural as the team interrogates multiple suspects. It’s a solidly paced story that moves much more quickly toward the ending. ‘

Denis Zendel’s Review

I’m a big fan of British police procedurals, and this one did not disappoint. I read it in two sittings. I’ll be picking up book 1 in the series, and looking for more from this author.

Elaine Tomasso’s Review

Hillary is a good protagonist. She has a wealth of experience, a nose for lies and a subconscious understanding of the direction she should take. She is very human with a tangled personal life and worries about of her late husband’s dealings which have real repercussions for her. I like the way she gets despondent about lack of progress in the case but pulls herself together and gets stuck in as it’s something we can all relate to.

Available from: www.amazon.co.uk  www.amazon.com  www.amazon.ca www.amazon.com.au  www.amazon.de

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000446_00066]MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY by Faith Martin

Looking for a brilliant murder mystery with a feisty female detective?

MEET DI HILLARY GREENE, A POLICE WOMAN WITH A THIRST FOR JUSTICE AND A COMPLICATED CAREER

A pretty French student is found dead in her room at an exclusive Oxford college. Everyone thinks it is another tragic case of accidental drug overdose.

But Detective Hillary Greene has a nose for the truth. She quickly discovers that the student had been up to some very unusual activities.

With a shocking cause of death found, the case becomes a high-profile murder investigation.

Adding to the pressure, Hillary’s nemesis is transferred to work with her at the station.

Can Hillary keep her cool and get justice for the unfortunate student?

MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY is the second in a series of page-turning crime thrillers set in Oxfordshire.

Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE LOCATION
The Oxford Canal meanders through the beautiful county of Oxfordshire, sometimes joining up with the rivers Cherwell and Thames, and flows past the world-famous university city of Oxford. Unlike many canals which are practically ruler-straight commercial waterways, built to help transport goods and heavy traffic before the advent of the railways, the Oxford Canal is a more winding and natural-looking body of water, and is a haven for wildlife and wildflowers. It has several romantically-named locks on its length (such as the Three Pigeons Lock, and Dashwood Lock) and boasts the ominously-sounding Somerton Deep Lock, which often terrifies first-time boating holiday-makers.

THE DETECTIVES

DI Hillary Greene
An attractive woman in her forties, Hillary Greene is a police officer of many years’ experience, and came up through the ranks. Consequently, she knows how the system works, and is fiercely loyal to the force without being blinkered to its faults. She is a long-standing friend of her immediate superior officer, ‘Mellow’ Mallow and enjoys a rather enigmatic relationship with the steely Superintendent Marcus Donleavy. Popular with the rank and file for her no-nonsense attitude and competence, she is currently under investigation on account of her recently deceased, and definitely corrupt husband (Ronnie Greene). But adversity has never stopped her from doing her job.

DCI Philip ‘Mellow’ Mallow
Mel appreciates Hillary’s first-rate ability to solve her cases, and isn’t happy about her harassment by the officers from York. Known for his sartorial elegance and laid-back manners, he has a sharp mind, and an eye for the ladies. A good friend and ally for Hillary in her recent tribulations, he’s determined to keep his best investigator focused on the problems at hand.

PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “ON THE STRAIGHT AND NARROW.”
 
DI HILLARY GREENE SERIES

BOOK 1: MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL
BOOK 2: MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY
MORE COMING SOON!


My Review

 


Author photoAuthor Bio

Faith Martin has been writing for over 25 years, in four genres and under four different pen names. She was born in Oxford and sets most of her crime novels within sight of the city of dreaming spires. A real nature lover and afficionado of the countryside, descriptions of wildlife and native flora often find their way into her manuscripts. Right now, JOFFE BOOKS are re-issuing the first eleven of the DI Hillary Greene novels in new updated editions! And the first 2 of these, MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL and MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY  are  available now, with the others to very quickly follow.

BLOG BLITZ: Innocent Blood by Linda Prather

Innocent Blood by Linda Prather

‘This is an intriguing book that moves along at a fairly fast pace with many twists and turns along the way. There is an element of the paranormal along with drugs, murder, corruption and many other vices to throw into the mix. A very good read.’

Available from: www.amazon.co.uk  www.amazon.com

INNOCENT 6 FINALBook Description:

Loki Redmond swore she’d never return to the reservation, but two missing hunters and the ancient Choctaw myth of Nalusa Falaya take her and her brother, Dadron, on a dangerous trek through the wilderness.

Meanwhile, her partner Jake Savior, heads to Tunica, Mississippi, to investigate the second mass killing by a Choctaw police officer.

Are the cases connected?

The only thing they know for sure is innocent blood has been shed, and unless they can find the source more are going to die.


My Review

This is book 2 in the series. I haven’t read book 1, The Forgotten, and while I did pick up what the characters are about I think I would have enjoyed it more if I had read book 1 so would recommend that they are read in sequence.

The story revolves around the Choctaw Indian community. I found learning about the Choctaw’s and their culture and beliefs very interesting and the Author has definitely done her research to a high level as this knowledge comes across very well as the story develops.

Loki is Choctaw and escaped the reservation many years ago with her brothers. She also rescued and adopted a young girl with a baby. She is a very caring ‘Mamma Bear’ type character that you have to love.

When Choctaw police officers start killing their colleagues before committing suicide everyone is shocked these are family men and conscientious officers and nobody knows what is going on. Jake and Loki get tangled up in this at the same time as Lok’s past comes back to haunt her and her brothers.

This is an intriguing book that moves along at a fairly fast pace with many twists and turns along the way. There is an element of the paranormal along with drugs, murder, corruption and many other vices to throw into the mix. A very good read.

Thank you to Bloodhound Books for the advance copy.


heatshot 1aAuthor Bio

Linda S. Prather is the NY Times and USA Today Bestselling author of 8 novels including two legal thrillers, a paranormal FBI series, one romance, and her current series involving Loki Redmond, a Choctaw private investigator and Jake Savior, a former police officer. Linda lives in Lexington, Kentucky with her husband and grandchild, along with the “king” of the house, a Shitzu name Popcorn. Her latest release, Innocent Blood is her second in the Loki Redmond/Jake Savior series. In Linda’s own words: “This book is my favorite so far. My grandfather was a full-blooded Native American, and my mother half Native American. Prior to my marriage and children I studied Shamanism and developed a true love for nature. Studying the Choctaw history, customs, myths and religions was fascinating. Taking the facts I learned and weaving them into Loki’s story and her investigation into the disappearance of two hunters on the reservation was an emotional roller coaster for me. I found myself crying quite often.”

Links:

Website: linda@lindasprather.com – where you can join Linda’s email list and never miss a new release

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/linda.prather2
Twitter: @jacodypress

Blog: jacodypress.blogspot.com

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: