BLOG TOUR: Innocent Lies by Chris Collett

INNOCENT LIES by Chris Collett

There are many twists and turns as the story progresses and the teams put the clues together to reach a conclusion that nobody is expecting.

Available from: Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon Canada Amazon Australia Amazon Germany Amazon France

Cover jpg.jpgINNOCENT LIES by CHRIS COLLETT

Do you like police procedurals with great characters and real grit?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

Two teenagers go missing on the same day. Just a coincidence?

The two young people are from very different backgrounds: Yasmin is the talented, grammar-school-educated daughter of devout Muslim professionals. Ricky disappears after storming out of his council house after an argument with his mum’s latest boyfriend.

DI Mariner knows Ricky’s mother from his days in uniform. He is furious when his superiors take him off Ricky’s case and reassign him to the more politically sensitive investigation. The press — and his bosses — are convinced that Yasmin’s disappearance is a racially motivated abduction. The Akrams have been the target of a far right group.

But Mariner soon discovers that Yasmin is far from the innocent victim her parents think she is. Can he get to the bottom of a perplexing case where no one is what they seem?

Find out the answers in this crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the second book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD OF THE INNOCENTS.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
More coming soon!

PRAISE FOR MARINER
I really couldn’t put it down’ Raw Edge Magazine

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character. This is a fitting follow-up to her debut and reassures the crime fan that the police procedural is in safe hands. More, please’ Yorkshire Post


My Review

This is book 2 in the DI Mariner series that is being republished by Joffe Books.  Some advances have been made since this book was written so I am starting my review with the Author’s note:

This is the second mystery featuring Tom Mariner. It is set in the early 2000s, when the internet was in its infancy, mobile phones had yet to evolve into smart phones, and people still read print newspapers.

The story begins with 2 separate cases of missing teenagers.  One is known to Tom Mariner and comes from a difficult background the other case is a an asian girl from an affluent background.  Tom has a ‘new’ superior officer for this book and we immediately pick up on the bad vibes between the 2 men.  Fiske is after brownie points and immediately orders Tom to concentrate on the Asian girl and passes the other case to another team.

As the book progresses at a steady pace the intrigue builds as many different pieces of the jigsaw are uncovered.  Interlaced with the case are the personal issues affecting some members of the team.

Tom Mariner is a very ‘human’ character and cares about his team and their happiness.  He is developing well over the series and I like him, and the other members of the team, very much.  I am a little unsure about the relationship Tom has with Anna.

There are many twists and turns as the story progresses and the teams put the clues together to reach a conclusion that nobody is expecting.

A very good read and I am looking forward to book 3.


Chris Collett - author picAuthor Bio

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.
Find out more at www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

Twitter:  @CrimeCrow

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

BLOG BLITZ: Snow Light by Danielle Zinn

SNOW LIGHT by Danielle Zinn.

A roller coaster ride through a sleepy, snowy village to unravel the clues and find a murderer but that isn’t the end…

Available from: Amazon US Amazon UK Amazon Canada  Amazon Australia

snowlight FINAL tagline .jpegBook Description:

When Detective Inspector Nathaniel Thomas encounters a man attacking a young woman in a local park, the DI is unable to save her. Out of guilt, Thomas quits his job at Homicide Headquarters and relocates to the tiny village of Turtleville, where he regains control of himself and begins to enjoy life again. However, a year later, all the guilt and shame of the park murder re-emerges when a local hermit, Ethan Wright, is murdered with an unusual weapon and left on display in the centre of the village. For Thomas the situation gets worse when DS Ann Collins, a colleague from his past, appears to help with the case. But things become complicated when the victim’s identity is put into question. Who is the victim? And why was he murdered? Thomas and Collins will find themselves trying to solve a highly unusual case and both may have more in common than they could have ever imagined.


My Review

This is a debut novel by this author and a very impressive one at that.

DI Nat Thomas is traumatised by his inability to save a young woman the previous year and has hidden away in a remote village where he shares his nights with nightmares and his day with ‘What if’s’.

Life in Turtleville is quiet and peaceful.  Nothing much happens and Nat is quietly licking his wounds when a dead body is found.  Collins is sent to assist in the investigation she doesn’t want to be there and Nat doesn’t want her there.

The book moves along steadily as Nat and Collins work around their differences to try to solve the murder.  It is an intriguing story with many twists and turns and a shocking revelation at the end.

I loved reading about the area and having a story set in a snow bound remote village brought a different perspective to the story.  Absolutely love Sky she is one amazing kid.

It is a very intriguing read with emotions and history intertwined among the lines of the story.  I am looking forward to more from this author.

Thank you to Bloodhound Books for the advance copy.


PHOTOGRAPH_colour_Danielle ZinnAuthor Bio:

Danielle holds a BA (Hons) degree in Business and Management from New College Durham and after gaining some work experience in Wales and the USA, she settled down in Frankfurt am Main where she works as a Financial Controller at an IT Consultancy.
Born and raised in a small village in the Ore Mountains/Germany, Danielle was introduced to the world of English literature and writing from an early age on through her mother – an English teacher.
Her passion for sports, especially skiing and fencing, stems from her father’s side. Danielle draws her inspiration for writing from long walks in the country as well as circumnavigating the globe and visiting her friends scattered all over the world.
Mix everything together and you get “Snow Light”, her debut detective thriller combining a stunning wintry setting in the Ore Mountains with unique traditions, some sporty action and lots of suspense.

Links:

@DanielleZinn4

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: