BLOG TOUR WRAP UP – Married Lies by Chris Collett

Thank you very much to all the brilliant bloggers on the Blog Tour for MARRIED LIES by Chris Collett.  You are all amazing.  Thank you for all your help with this and every other book you help to promote.  Jill, Chris & Joffe Books. x

thank you banner

Black Books Blog

The book is a brilliantly written police procedural book, which I thoroughly enjoyed and couldn’t put down. Read more here


Linda Strong Book Reviews

This is an excellent addition to a series that is well written, with outstanding characters, and a terrific story premise. Along with the professional side of Mariner and his team, the reader is also treated to a glimpse of their personal sides, which make them much more credible.  Read more here


Ginger Book Geek

To say that the Detective Tom Mariner series is addictive reading has to be the understatement of the year.  I was hooked on this book from the first word on the first page and I wasn’t released from the book’s grip until the moment I closed the back cover so to speak.  Read more here


Donna’s Book Blog

The pace in this one was great and I really enjoyed the story, it is the fifth in the series but I would say that this one can easily be read as a stand alone.  Read more here


On the Shelf Reviews

#guestpost Q&A


Sassy Redhead Book Reviews

This was another great story with DCI Mariner. I enjoy reading this series as each story has a lot of twists and suspense, but the stories all take you into the life of DCI Mariner and his team, Tony Knox, Jamilla Khatoon, and Charlie Glover along with their Commanding Officer, DCI Davina Sharp.   Read more here


Joanna Larum’s Reviews

All in all, a magnificent story which had me glued to the pages. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to all lovers of crime books.  Read more here


Turn the Page Blog

Fantastic Read, highly recommended. Fab storyline and easy to read.  Read more here


MARRIED LIES 2MARRIED LIES by CHRIS COLLETT

Available from:   Amazon UK  Amazon US   Amazon Australia   Amazon Canada

Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

Lucy Jarrett is terrified. Someone is watching her every move, following her home from work and making threatening phone calls. But her husband doesn’t believe her and no one else is listening.

Lucy’s married life is proving anything but blissful. Her musician husband is perpetually away on tour and doesn’t want to start a family.

Lucy finally calls on DI Tom Mariner for help, and he takes her fears seriously because of the recent murder of another young woman by her ex-partner.

Mariner himself is already on the hunt for a sadistic killer. Nina Silvero, wife of an ex-police officer, was duped into sipping sulphuric acid disguised as celebratory wine. Grappling with her apparently motiveless killing, Mariner delegates Lucy’s case to Millie Khatoon.  Is someone out for revenge against the police?

Can DI Tom Mariner track down the stalker and catch the killer before anyone else dies?

Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the fifth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING

Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “STALKED BY SHADOWS.”

DI MARINER SERIES

Book 1: Deadly Lies

Book 2: Innocent Lies

Book 3: Killer Lies

Book 4: Baby Lies

Book 5: Married Lies

Books 6-7 coming soon


Chris Collett author photo jpgCHRIS COLLETT – AUTHOR BIO

I was born and grew up in a Norfolk seaside town, almost as far east as it’s possible to go in England without falling into the North Sea. There I worked variously in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). I graduated in Liverpool, then for twenty-five years taught children and young people with learning disabilities, including autism, before going into higher education as a senior lecturer.

Mindful of its reputation, I moved somewhat reluctantly to Birmingham, where I met my husband, in 1981. But just a few years later DI Tom Mariner was created to police its mean streets, and these days I relish the vibrancy and rich social history of the city. After eight outings for Mariner, I still feel as if I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Recently retired from lecturing and I’m currently luxuriating in the time I now have to continue the Mariner series, alongside published short stories and academic works. In my spare time, among other things, I’m a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

Links

Website: www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

Twitter: @crime_crow

Facebook: www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

BLOG TOUR: Crimson Siege by Jay Raven #GuestPost

Today it is my stop on the Blog Tour for CRIMSON SIEGE by Jay Raven. This is book 1 in the Bloodriders series.  I would like to share with you a #guestpost where the author explains how he got from Humourist to writer of Horror fiction.  Curious?  So was I so I will let you read on.

Jay Raven, whose vampire chiller Crimson Siege is being launched by Junction Publishing this week, reveals how he made the startling switch from gags to gore.

545

JAY RAVEN AUTHOR PHOTO

.

One man- two different faces.

Humour writer Iain Pattison

and

his Jay Raven horror writing alter ego.

 

I adore Gothic horror and dark fantasy – writing historical chillers set in a murderous past where monsters roam free and terror is only one full moon midnight encounter away. Vampires, werewolves and witches fill my imagination and more of my thinking time than is entirely healthy.

But although I am besotted with this most nerve-tingling of genres, I have to admit that it was not my first love. In fact, the only screams I used to seek were screams of laughter. Because, for the first 15 years of my writing career, I was a humorist. My speciality was comedy twist-ender short stories.

So how the heck did a funny man end up penning nightmare visions? Well, it happened by accident. About five years ago Canadian small publisher Absolute Xpress was bringing out a flash fiction anthology called Creatures of the Night and was inviting submissions.

My first reaction was to pen a gentle parody or bit of supernatural slapstick. But the more I thought about it, the more I found myself wondering if I could do it straight.

Remembering how much I loved Hammer Horror films  as a kid, I decided to write a vampire tale and a werewolf story, hoping one or the other would catch the judge’s eye. And two surprising things happened that forever changed my writing career – the publisher took BOTH stories and suggested I send in more, and I realised my brain was bursting with Gothic horror plotlines.

So, for quite some time, I became two separate writers – deciding on my mood each morning whether to be jokey or go to the dark side.  I calculated that to avoid confusion I’d pen humour under my own name (Iain Pattison) and dark fantasy under my Jay Raven pen name.

Inevitably one side or the other would triumph. And last Christmas I was offered a two-book deal by Junction Publishing (it has since become a three book deal) to write Gothic horror novels. So humour has been given the heave-ho… certainly for the medium term.

But that’s great. I’m really looking forward to a future filled with fiends, foul play and fear…


Crimson Siege ebook cover

Blood Riders – Book One: Crimson Siege by Jay Raven

Available from: Amazon

In the Godforsaken badlands of Transylvania the fragile truce between mankind and monsters is about to explode…
When bounty hunters target one of 19th century Europe’s most feared vampire clans, the last place any lawman wants to be is caught in the middle…

But for Anton Yoska, Lord Marshal of the Imperial lands south of the Carpathian Mountains, fate has trapped him in a supernatural stand-off that can end only in a bloodbath.

A gang of mercenaries led by Anton’s former army comrade Milosh Drubrick have captured vampire aristocrat Stefan Modjeski, wanted for a string of frenzied murders, and have come to Anton to claim the reward. And as Stefan’s predatory undead kin lay siege to the jailhouse, Anton is faced with an agonising choice – hand over his prisoner and abandon the bounty hunters to their unspeakable fate, or stand and fight.

The jailhouse defenders are outnumbered and out of options. It’s a battle that can’t be won, certain slaughter for them all, and Anton can’t trust his scheming allies. But Lord Marshal Yoska isn’t about to surrender.

For he’s an experienced vampire hunter, a dangerous man when cornered, and a single minded warrior who knows there are worse things to fear than death…


DSCN0115AUTHOR BIO

Jay Raven is the author of Gothic chillers and historical horror reminding readers that the past is a dangerous place to venture, full of monsters and murderous men.

He blames his fascination with vampires, witches and werewolves on the Hammer Horror films he watched as a teenager, but living in a creepy old house on the edge of a 500-acre wood may have something to do with it.

Links

Website: http://www.jayraven.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/iain.pattison.1

Twitter: @jayravenauthor

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: