BLOG TOUR: Dead Smart by Stephen Puleston #InspectorMarco #DeadSmart #BookReview #CrimeFiction #BookReview @Inspector_Marco #PoliceProcedural #Bookstagram

Today it is my stop on the Blog Tour for DEAD SMART by Stephen Puleston. This is a prequel novella to the Inspector Marco series and is a gripping read.

Dead-Smart-cover.pngDead Smart: A prequel novella (Inspector John Marco Mysteries) 

Available from: Amazon

Nobody can hide from the truth …

Eddie Westford is found dead outside the Cardiff City Football ground. His throat has been cut in a cold-blooded attack. Inspector Marco discovers photographs of Westford sitting in various luxury cars and Westford’s connections with the organised hooligan gangs of Cardiff points to a connection with hardened criminals.
Evidence suggesting Westford is a suspect in a drug related inquiry means that Marco faces having to transfer the investigation to another officer. But Marco’s gut instinct believes that Westford’s death may be connected to some powerful people in Cardiff and he resists the attempts from his senior officer to have the murder case allocated to another officer.

Marco embarks on a final last minute attempt to prove his theory with disastrous consequences before he finally identifies Westford’s killer.


My Review

This is a prequel novella introduction to the Inspector Marco series.

A man is murdered with his throat cut and Marco is on the case except a link to drugs is found and he sees the case slipping out of his grasp.  Can he solve the case before he loses it?

This is a very complex story with a lot going on as we learn about the characters in tandem with the story developing.  A lot of twists and turns and red herrings keep the story moving along at a fast pace and the approaching deadline adds to the adrenaline rush as we all urge Marco on.  The ending is a real curve ball and one I definitely didn’t see coming.

This is a well written story.  The characters develop well through the book and there is minimal descriptive text so the fast pace is set and maintained from the very first page.

A brilliant introduction to what has the makings of a brilliant series I will definitely be reading future books.

I recommend this book to readers who like Police Procedural and Crime Fiction.



Stephen Puleston author photoAuthor Bio

I write crime fiction based in Wales and about Wales. The rural landscape of north Wales provides the backdrop to the Inspector Drake novels. And Cardiff the capital of Wales provides the setting for the Inspector Marco novels set in a modern urban environment.
I love the novels of Raymond Chandler, Ian Rankin, Mark Billingham, Henning Mankell, Val McDermid – the list could go on! And I enjoy watching detective series on the television the recent Hinterland series based near Aberystwyth in Wales was great. One of my favourites is the French series Spiral but The Bridge and Broadchurch and the Rebus series with Ken Stott and Kenneth Branagh in Wallander are great too.
I have been on writing courses at the Welsh Writers Centre in Llanystymdwy, North Wales tutored by Matt Whyman and Marcus Sedgwick as well as crime writing courses with Peter Robinson and Andrew Taylor at the Scottish Writers centre.
I was born in Anglesey an island off the north Wales coast and after leaving school in Holyhead I went to University in London before training as a solicitor/lawyer. I practised in a small family business doing criminal work in the magistrates and crown courts, divorce and family work.
I still live on Anglesey, North Wales near the beach and the mountains of Snowdonia

Links

Website: www.stephenpuleston.co.uk/
Twitter:@Inspector_Marco
Facebook:www.facebook.com/stephenpulestoncrimewriter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Papertea & Bookflowers

Recommendations, Reviews, Discussions and Bookphotography

Saturday Nite Reader

my saturday night = comfy pj's + a glass of wine + a good book

Lost in Book Land

A future librarian, muggle (who wishes they got their letter), cat mom, and lover of books

The Reading Table

Readers gonna read

Books and Bookends

Book reviews and previews from an avid reader!

My Mind Speaks Aloud

Lifestyle, Self-Development, Book Reviews + More

thatsabitracey.com

The open and honest blog about race, equality, diversity and inclusion.

We Have No Apologies

Your books, your words, your voices

Bookish Jottings

The Romance, Saga and Women's Fiction Blog

recipeandaread.wordpress.com/

Come for the read. Stay for the food.

Brooklyn.the.bookworm

Book Reviews :)

Bookish Kimberly

anything bookish and coffee-ish

HayleyReviews10

There’s no such thing as too many books.

twirling pages

all things literary & lifestyle

jillwrites

Author of Dual Visions & Vashla's World, also co-author of Fan-tas-tic-al Tales and Mystery, Mayhem & Magic as one of The Ten Penners, and contributor to Spooktacular Stories and Tell 'em They're Dreaming as one of the Share Your Story Angels. I write book reviews, articles and other interesting prose.

Rebecca Bradley

Murder Down To A Tea

gemsbooknook

Bringing Book Reviews to the Readers of the World...

Awordseeker

Poetry, Musings and More.

Mrsreadsbooks

For The Love of Books

The Reading Zone

I am a reader, a teacher, a writer, a thinker, a reviewer, and a dreamer of dreams.

Drew Martin Writes

I write. I create. It's that simple, yet so much more complex. Poetry, fiction, non-fiction, reviews.

Bee Books Beauty

Sharing my passions - books, wellness, beauty & nature

Reading Books With Coffee

Where My Love Of Coffee And My Love Of YA Intersect

Book Lover Kate

Kate; lover of books

The Book Lover's Boudoir

Inside the world of a bibliophile...

Oh Book It!

Book reviews and other bits and bobs

Kitty Marie's Reading Corner

book blogger & reviewer

Loisreadsbooks

Book reviews and more

Writerly Bookish Stuff

Avid tea drinker. Author. Book Reviewer.

Lili's Blissful Pages

reading, writing and other blissful stuff...

Kristen Lamb

Author, Blogger, Social Media Jedi

Book Jotter

Reviews, news, features and all things books for passionate readers

This Writer's Life

Live Your Dream

Ashes Books & Bobs

Plenty of Books & a Few Bobs!

%d bloggers like this: