#BookReview DEAD LOST (Detectives Calladine & Bayliss #4) by Helen H Durrant @hhdurrant @JoffeBooks #detective #crimebook #TeamJoffeBooks

DEAD LOST (Detectives Calladine & Bayliss #4)


An abandoned cotton mill holds horrific secrets
Police partners, D.I. Calladine and D.S. Ruth Bayliss face one of their toughest challenges yet. A group of homeless people have set up camp in the grounds of a disused cotton mill belonging to local businessman Damien Chase.

But one of the men is not what he seems. He has a secret he will do anything to cover up. And once Calladine and Bayliss investigate, they find the crimes go much further than they could have ever imagined.

Will Ruth be able to juggle her personal and professional lives, and can Calladine deal with their new boss, a woman he neither trusts nor likes? Willing to do anything to bring terrible suffering to an end, Calladine make an astonishing move . . 

Tom Calladine is a single, fifty-one-year-old detective inspector who is devoted to his job. His personal life, however, is not so successful. Having been married and divorced before the age of twenty-one has set a pattern that he finds difficult to escape. 

Ruth Bayliss is in her mid-thirties, plain-speaking but loyal. She wishes she had more time for the gym and a love life. She uses her demanding workload as an excuse not to try too hard with the men she meets. Her hobby is birdwatching.

The series is set in the fictional village of Leesdon on the outskirts of an industrial northern English city. There is little work and a lot of crime. The bane of Calladine’s life is the Hobfield housing estate, breeding ground to all that is wrong with the area that he calls home.


Another great addition to the Detectives Calladine and Bayliss series.

Calladine is struggling personally.  He is trying to find himself after the bombshell his Mum left him.  His is bouncing from one unlikely relationship to another and his Sergeant is heavily pregnant and about to go on Maternity leave.  But things are going to get worse before they get better and to add to the confusion he has to deal with the upcoming court case knowing that there are people out there who will stop at nothing to prevent him giving evidence.

He suspects someone in the force is corrupt but who is it?  Prime suspect is his new DCI.  They get off on the wrong foot and he begins to think she is on a mission to remove him from the team or dismantle the team either way he is very much on his guard.

The story has several strands.  The homeless camp seems to be the central point but a very unlikely one.  When homeless men go missing will anyone care?  Well Calladine and his team do and when their investigations turn up other possible crimes the team are struggling to work out what is going on.

Another gripping story full of twists, turns and red herrings all the way to a totally shocking conclusion.  A 5 star read that will appeal to all crime fiction readers.

Helen H Durrant Author Bio

Helen sets her books in the area she has lived in for many years. The towns and villages that sit in the shelter of the Pennine hills. This is an area between two counties, Lancashire and Yorkshire, and between the city and the hills. It offers a rich mix of the industrial and the countryside and all the character therein. 

Helen always planned to write crime novels. But until she retired from full-time work in a local further education college, it had to go on the back burner. Once she did retire – there was no excuse. She now writes full-time. Retirement proper will have to wait! 

Currently there are nine books in the ‘Calladine & Bayliss’ series available – Dead Wrong, Dead Silent, Dead List, Dead Lost, Dead & Buried, Dead Nasty, Dead Jealous, Dead Bad, and the latest – Dead Guilty. There is also a box set of the first three books.

Also available are four books in the ‘DI Greco’ series – Dark Murder, Dark Houses, Dark Trade, and the latest – Dark Angel.

There are two books in the DI Matt Brindle series – His Third Victim and The Other Victim.

The DCI Rachel King series has two books – Next Victim and Two Victim


Website: https://booksnall.blog

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/helenhdurrant/

Twitter: @hhdurrant

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: