10 of 10 Dead Guilty -CALLADINE and BAYLISS series by Helen H Durrant #bookreview #detective #crimefiction @hhdurrant @joffebooks

Today is the final of my Calladine and Bayliss series as we have reached the end of all the books published so far with Book 9: DEAD GUILTY.  However, I am sure there are more to come.  I hope you have enjoyed reading.

Dead Guilty (Book 9)

Available from AMAZON

Looking for a brilliant best-selling crime mystery with great detectives?

Detective Calladine and Bayliss hunt for a missing child in a mystery with a shocking ending.

Sophie Alder is the three-year-old daughter of local factory owner, Richard Alder. Richard and his wife Annie are locals from the rough housing estate who’ve made it big.

Plus, there’s a crime wave in Leesworth and the police can’t cope. One thief even dares to break into Calladine’s house.

A number of local men have formed a vigilante group. On one of their patrols they catch the burglar and he ends up dead.

The investigation is complicated and the detectives keep hearing about a shadowy figure called “Street,” the mastermind behind the increase in drugs and theft.

With two more murders and Calladine’s personal life in turmoil, the detectives face against time to find “Street” and the missing child.

In an ending with a huge twist, the detectives find everything they believed is turned upside down.

If you like Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, Mel Sherratt, Ruth Rendell, or Mark Billingham you will enjoy this exciting new crime fiction writer.
DEAD GUILTY is book nine of a new series of detective thrillers featuring D.S. Ruth Bayliss and D.I. Tom Calladine.

Tom Calladine is a detective inspector who is devoted to his job. His personal life, however, is not so successful. Having been married and divorced before the age of twenty-one has set a pattern that he finds difficult to escape.

Ruth Bayliss is in her mid-thirties, plain-speaking but loyal. She is balancing her professional life with looking after a small child.

The fictional village of Leesdon on the outskirts of an industrial northern English city. There is little work and a lot of crime. The bane of Calladine’s life is the Hobfield housing estate, breeding ground to all that is wrong with the area that he calls home.


My Review

This is book 9 in the Calladine & Bayliss series but it does work well as stand alone.

A missing 3 year old child, Drugs, vigilantes, burglaries and murder.  Calladine and his team are really up against it.  When a fellow Detective has a heart attack Calladine finds the whole lot is for his team to investigate.

There is a lot going on in this book as the team buckle down to start following leads.  They are getting nowhere fast.  Who is the elusive Street and why are the criminals they have arrested being released?  It smacks of corruption and when Calladine is ordered to back off investigating Street his worst fears are realised.

Reading this series is a bit like coming home. Familiar characters but you always learn something new and the advantage of these books is Helen is such a brilliant author she manages to write the books so you can step in at any point in the series and quickly catch up.  No repetitive text to bore the readers who are following the series but enough to fill in blanks for new readers.

This is a twisty turny book that I simply couldn’t put down there are real shockers all the way through and it is packed with suspense to keep the adrenaline pumping.  WOW what an awesome read and when it gets towards the end and the clues start to link the different threads you think you have worked out what the ending is going to be…..  Wrong!  The ending is a total unexpected mind blowing shock.

An absolutely brilliant read that had me turning page after page.  5 golden stars from me.

Helen H Durrant

Author Bio

Helen sets her books in the area she has lived in for many years. The towns and villages that sit in the shelter of the Pennine hills. This is an area between two counties, Lancashire and Yorkshire, and between the city and the hills. It offers a rich mix of the industrial and the countryside and all the character therein.

Helen always planned to write crime novels. But until she retired from full-time work in a local further education college, it had to go on the back burner. Once she did retire – there was no excuse. She now writes full-time. Retirement proper will have to wait!

Currently there are nine books in the ‘Calladine & Bayliss’ series available – Dead Wrong, Dead Silent, Dead List, Dead Lost, Dead & Buried, Dead Nasty, Dead Jealous, Dead Bad, and the latest – Dead Guilty. There is also a box set of the first three books.

Also available are four books in the ‘DI Greco’ series – Dark Murder, Dark Houses, Dark Trade, and the latest – Dark Angel.

There are two books in the DI Matt Brindle series – His Third Victim and The Other Victim.

The DCI Rachel King series has two books – Next Victim and Two Victims


Twitter – @hhdurrant

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pg/helenhdurrant/about/?ref=page_internal

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: